Open EducationOpen Educationopen-educationopen-educationFILEXLSeducationstatisticsstudentsLicense Not SpecifiedOct 17, 20132013-10-17
Dataset
UK Students by Institution 2011/12
Higher Education Statistics Agency (HESA) Students and Qualifiers data tables: UK Students by Institution 2011/12. Tables are extracted from the HESA Students in Higher Education Institutions publication.
Higher Education Statistics Agency (HESA) Students and Qualifiers data tables: UK Students by Institution 2011/12. Tables are extracted from the HESA Students in Higher Education Institutions publication.
Download & API
62f32885-8b8e-415f-86d3-43edaf8715eefile
6d000db2-86d5-43cf-995b-93d192db57c1file
a051cf2f-c2a2-4e76-bfc8-9c812a9f9777file
be6585fd-fe9b-4cdc-8009-a18bd0bf5a08file
UK Students by Institution 2011/12xls
Student population
2.55 million students were studying for a qualification or for credit at 163 UK higher education institutions (HEIs) in 2011/12. Of these institutions, 162 were publicly-funded and one, The University of Buckingham, was privately funded.
A small proportion of these students (2.1%) were studying at further education (FE) level1. Information about FE students studying in HEIs is included in Table A and in two of the main tables of this publication (Tables 1 and 2), but they are otherwise excluded from this publication. All percentages from this point onwards relate to students at HE level only.
Table A [xls 31 KB] provides the numbers and proportions of HE students studying at each level with comparisons between full-time and part-time. Over two-thirds (68.9%) of the 2,496,645 HE students were following a full-time or sandwich programme, referred to in the rest of this publication as full-time. Just over half of all students (52.6%) were following a full-time fi…
Sources & license
License
- License Not Specified