Agro-ecological Zones of Africa

Agroecological zones (AEZs) are geographical areas exhibiting similar climatic conditions that determine their ability to support rainfed agriculture. At a regional scale, AEZs are influenced by latitude, elevation, and temperature, as well as seasonality, and rainfall amounts and distribution during the growing season. The resulting AEZ classifications for Africa have three dimensions: major climate zone (tropics or subtropics), moisture zones (water availability) and highland/lowland (warm or cool based on elevation).

Data and Resources

Additional Info

Field Value
Author Sebastian, Kate
Maintainer IFPRI-Data
Last Updated January 10, 2017, 22:10 (UTC)
Created January 10, 2017, 21:57 (UTC)
comments powered by Disqus
comments powered by Disqus